Pastors in Leadership at First Presbyterian

Staff at First Presbyterian

Session Leadership
The session is the governing body of a Presbyterian congregation and is responsible for the mission and government of that congregation.  It consists of the active elders plus the pastor or co-pastors and any associate pastors, all of whom have equal voting privileges.  Elders are elected by the congregation, ordinarily for three year terms with approximately one third of the session rotating off and on each year.  In our church two youth elders are also elected each year for one year terms.  The session is moderated by the pastor of the church.  More about the Session.

According to scripture, some Christians are called to be deacons. The ministry of a deacon is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ. Deacons are given the particular responsibility for building up and empowering the most vulnerable members of God’s people by ministering to those who are in need, to the sick, the friendless, and to any who may be in distress. In the Presbyterian Church, women and men are ordained into the office of a deacon, and the board which organizes and administers the work and ministry of the deacons is called The Diaconate. More about The Diaconate.