The session is the governing body of a Presbyterian congregation and is responsible for the mission and government of that congregation.  It consists of the active elders plus the pastor or co-pastors and any associate pastors, all of whom have equal voting privileges.  Elders are elected by the congregation, ordinarily for three year terms with approximately one third of the session rotating off and on each year.  In our church two youth elders are also elected each year for one year terms.  The session is moderated by the pastor of the church. Click here for a list of the Session members.

Session Committees:

Carol Dixon – Chair
The Administration Committee is responsible for all personnel issues, long range planning, and oversight of communications to members and the greater community.  Its work focuses on stewardship of staff, purposeful growth of the church, and sharing the story of Jesus and of First Presbyterian church through various communication resources so all can grow in relationship to one another and to God.

Congregational Fellowship and Nurture
Peggy Smith – Chair
…is responsible for all fellowship programs and services to the FPC community of believers.  It provides opportunities for congregants to nurture and support one another and form meaningful relationships through Christian fellowship within the believing community.  It encourages and assists all members to know each other, to be engaged in the life and work of the church, and to grow as faithful disciples.

Rebecca Combs  – Chair
…is responsible for all aspects of Christian education and discipleship growth at FPC.  It provides opportunities for congregants of all age groups to study and lean the scriptures, to develop vital prayer and devotional habits, to grow as faithful disciples, to become more Christ-like.  This committee’s task is “to equip the saints for the work of ministry.” (Ephesians 4:12)

Mike Bunch– Chair
…has responsibility for all financial aspects of FPC.  It provides stewardship of all financial offerings and gifts for God’s glory and purpose.

Outreach and Evangelism
Jami Arrowsmith – Chair
…is responsible for proclaiming the good news of Jesus Christ through direct action and word.  The committee responsibilities include providing services and inviting people to worship and to join the fellowship of the community of believers at FPC.  Equipped by the Christian Education and Discipleship Committee and supported by the Congregational Fellowship and Nurture Committee, members put their faith into action, in word and deed, through the Outreach and Evangelism Committee.

Wes Mink – Chair
…is responsible for the acquisition, disposition, maintenance and use of all FPC buildings, grounds, furnishings and equipment.  This committee provides for stewardship of all church facilities.

Roger Goin– Chair
…is responsible for oversight and support of all aspects of the worship services at FPC, including weddings, funerals and special services.  The committee’s focus is to assist the congregation to worship and show gratitude to God.